Watch-only mode is an optional feature that allows you to log in to a Blockstream Green wallet with limited permissions. You can use watch-only mode for different purposes:
- To receive funds securely, with peace of mind that your device cannot be used to spend your funds if it is stolen or compromised.
- To allow a third party to manage your wallet and receive transactions without the ability to spend your funds, for example for a shared business wallet.
What Can I Do in Watch-Only Mode?
In watch-only mode, you can view all accounts and transactions associated with your wallet, receive new transactions, and sweep private keys.
What Can I Not Do in Watch-Only Mode?
Sending transactions is disabled in watch-only mode. That means you can receive funds, but not spend them.
Your wallet's recovery phrase is also not visible in watch-only mode.
How Does Watch-Only Mode Work?
The watch-only feature is only available for the Blockstream Green mobile app.
Watch-only mode functions as a separate account with limited access to your wallet.
You must fully log in to your Blockstream Green wallet (using the PIN, FaceID, etc.) to set up a username and password and enable a watch-only account. You will only be able to update settings for your watch-only wallet when logged in with full access.